1. The International Commission for the History of Travel and Tourism (ICHTT) is an internal commission of the International Committee of Historical Sciences (ICHS). It was constituted and acts within and in compliance with the ICHS. Rules and regulations used by the ICHS will be adopted by the Commission for its works and proceedings.

  2. The purposes of the Commission are:
    a. to represent scholars interested in the history of travel and tourism;
    b. to create an effective network and profitable exchange of information and ideas between historians of different countries;
    c. to promote research in this field of interest.

  3. Membership of the Commission is entirely individual. Every one interested in the History of Travel and Tourism from a scientific point
    of view can be admitted. Applications for membership must be sent directly to the Secretariat; the Bureau will evaluate them within 6 months. The new member hasn’t the right to vote in the General Assembly until the application has been approved by the Bureau. Each member of the Commission has to pay a yearly membership fee, the amount of which is fixed by the General Assembly. If the fee is not paid by a member for one year on end, the member may be suspended.

  4. Structure of the Commission are the General Assembly and the Bureau.
    As a rule, the General Assembly takes place during the International Congress of Historical Sciences. The extraordinary General Assemblies can be summoned by the Bureau.
    The Bureau is elected by the General Assembly. It consists of not less than 6 members, and not more than 12. Each candidature for the office of member of the Bureau has to be notified to the General Secretary al least 6 months before the General Assembly. Should any vacancy occour, the vacant place can be filled by co-optation, but all co-optations would have to be confirmed by the next General Assembly. The tenure of the Bureau members lasts five years, and the members can be re-elected, but it is strongly recommended a partial renewal, and that no member of the bureau serve more than two consecutive terms.

  5. The Bureau elects a President, a Vice President, a General Secretary chosen among its members. Each of them may represent the Commission. The General Secretary – with the help of the Secretariat – has the task of securing the smooth administration of the Commission, making known in advance the agenda of the meetings and all other relevant documents, keeping archives, drawing up minutes etc.

  6. The Commission budget consists of:
    a. its own resources (membership fees);
    b. subsidies granted by private or governamental institutions.

  7. All proposals to change the Statute must be delivered to the General Secretary in written form at least 6 months before any General Assembly. They have to be signed by at least 15 members of the Commission. They come into force only if approved by a two-thirds majority of the members being present at the Assembly.

  8. The address and formal seat of the Commission is where the Secretariat is located.

  9. The Commission’s life is unlimited.

back print top